Research Infrastructure

Cyberjustice Laboratory

The Laboratory is a space for the study and development of ICTs designed to improve dispute resolution processes, whether judicial or extrajudicial; it is a hub for reflection and creativity, where justice processes are modeled and re-imagined.

Laboratory Research Objectives

The Laboratory’s research team seeks to gain a better understanding of the sociolegal obstacles to the networking of judicial stakeholders and attempts to identify very concrete remedies to facilitate the the development of a new generation of software adapted to the needs of the judicial stakeholders.

The ultimate goal of the work of the Laboratory is to optimize the traditional legal process so as to improve its efficiency, reduce costs and delays, and simplify mechanisms.

Research Infrastructure

The Laboratory relies on an international multidisciplinary team of 36 researchers and a unique research facility that includes a cutting-edge courtroom and an IT centre. Benefiting mostly from public funding, this research infrastructure is anchored to two of the largest research institutions in Quebec: Université de Montréal and McGill University.

This content has been updated on 14 April 2020 at 14 h 36 min.

Infrastructure de recherche

Le Laboratoire de cyberjustice

Le laboratoire est un espace d’étude et de développement des TIC conçu pour améliorer les processus de règlement des différends, qu’ils soient judiciaires ou extrajudiciaires; c’est aussi un centre de réflexion et de créativité où les processus judiciaires sont modélisés et réimaginés.

 

Objectifs de recherche du laboratoire

L’équipe de recherche du Laboratoire cherche à mieux comprendre les obstacles socio-juridiques à la mise en réseau des acteurs du monde de la justice, et cherche à trouver des solutions très concrètes pour faciliter le développement d’une nouvelle génération de logiciels adaptés aux besoins des acteurs judiciaires.

Le but ultime de son travail est d’optimiser le processus juridique traditionnel afin d’en améliorer l’efficacité, de réduire les coûts et les délais et d’en simplifier les mécanismes.

Infrastructure

Le  laboratoire s’appuie sur une équipe multidisciplinaire internationale de 36 chercheurs et un centre de recherche unique qui comprend une salle d’audience à la fine pointe de la technologie et un centre informatique. Bénéficiant principalement d’un financement public, cette infrastructure de recherche s’ancre dans deux des plus grands établissements de recherche du Québec: l’Université de Montréal et l’Université McGill.

Ce contenu a été mis à jour le 11 juillet 2018 à 19 h 11 min.