Presentation

The Autonomy Through Cyberjustice Technologies (ACT) project is a research partnership that is unique in the field of artificial intelligence and cyberjustice. AJC is led by Professor Karim Benyekhlef, Director of the Cyberjustice Laboratory, and funded by a Partnership Grant issued by the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC) in the context of the 2017 competition.

Description : Autonomy through Cyberjustice Technologies (ACT)

The ACT partnership aims to leverage artificial intelligence (AI) to the service of justice stakeholders to improve conflict prevention and resolution. This project brings together a multidisciplinary and international team of 52 researchers and 45 partners representing a number of stakeholders including the world’s leading research centres dedicated to the implementation and use of technologies in the field of justice (cyberjustice), litigants and legal professionals (justice stakeholders), as well as main users and developers of AI for justice in Canada.

ACT’s research activities will benefit from both the software infrastructure of the Cyberjustice Laboratory (CJLab) and its partners’ expertise in AI and data harvesting, as well as the considerable experience acquired through the Towards Cyberjustice project (MCRI 2011-2018).

 

 


Research hypothesis

Our researchers and partners have noted, in the last two years, a stark proliferation of legaltechs offering justice stakeholders technological tools leveraging AI and big data to for conflict resolution and prevention. Notable examples include conversational agents, predictive algorithms for anticipating the outcome of lawsuits, smart contracts and online dispute resolution. These innovations are designed to enhance the stakeholders’ autonomy; in other words, to increase their ability to understand the law and enforce it. This empowerment of stakeholders through cyberjustice promises to transform conflict prevention and resolution as we know it today, while also disrupting the organization of the legal professions.

Interested and challenged by this phenomenon, justice practitioners question the contours of AI and its various effects on the delicate equilibrium prevailing in the judicial community. Our partners seek to identify the impacts of the deployment of AI and to draw lessons to develop technologies that are better suited to justice. To this end, three working groups have been formed.


Research agenda

Operating in a complementarity approach, these three groups will coordinate the activities of 16 distinct research subprojects. Based on the ongoing participation of its partners, the ACT Project will proceed over a six years period in four stages: a) an inventory of implementation cases of AI used to serve justice; b) evaluation of their impact with respect to the enhancement of the autonomy of justice stakeholders; c) development of best practices for the safeguard of parties’ interests; and d) development of a governance framework capable of  guaranteing the fair use of AI for justice.

With a pragmatic approach, the ACT Project will participate in developing a legal governance framework for AI in the field of justice. This major project will also foster the education of the next generation of multidisciplinary researchers in law and computer science by contributing to the annual training of approximately 25 students.

In terms of secondary benefits, the research sub-projects will experiment with and implement innovative technologies for justice and will also provide new opportunities for the private sector.

This content has been updated on 1 September 2020 at 10 h 05 min.

Présentation

Le projet Autonomisation des acteurs Judiciaires par la Cyberjustice et l’intelligence artificielle (AJC) est un partenariat de recherche, unique dans le domaine de la recherche en intelligence artificielle et en cyberjustice. AJC est dirigé par le professeur Karim Benyekhlef, directeur du Laboratoire de cyberjustice et financé par le concours 2017 du Conseil de Recherche en Sciences Humaines du Canada (CRSH).

 

Description : Autonomisation des acteurs judiciaires par la Cyberjustice (AJC)

Le partenariat AJC vise à mettre l’intelligence artificielle (IA) au service des acteurs judiciaires pour améliorer la prévention et la résolution des conflits. AJC réunit une équipe composée de 45 chercheurs et de 42 partenaires représentant : les meilleurs Centres de recherche mondiaux dédiés à l’introduction et l’utilisation des technologies dans le champ de la justice (la cyberjustice) ; les justiciables et professionnels du droit (les acteurs judiciaires) ; ainsi que les principaux utilisateurs et développeurs de l’IA pour la justice au Canada.

Les activités scientifiques d’AJC bénéficieront de l’infrastructure logicielle du Laboratoire de cyberjustice(LabCJ), de l’expertise en IA et en moissonnage de données des nombreux partenaires du projet et de la formidable expérience acquise lors du projet Vers une cyberjustice (GTRC 2011-2018).

Hypothèse de recherche

Nos chercheurs et partenaires observent, depuis deux ans, une explosion des legaltechs proposant aux acteurs judiciaires des outils technologiques de résolution et de prévention des conflits misant sur l’IA et les données massives. On pense notamment aux agents conversationnels, aux algorithmes prédictifs permettant d’anticiper le résultat d’un procès, aux contrats intelligents ou au règlement en ligne des conflits. Ces innovations sont censées rendre les acteurs plus autonomes, c’est-à-dire augmenter leur capacité de connaître le droit et de le mettre en œuvre. Cette autonomisation des acteurs par la cyberjustice promet de transformer la prévention et la résolution des conflits, telles que nous les connaissons, tout en bouleversant l’organisation des professions judiciaires.

Intéressés et interpellés par ce phénomène, les intervenants de la justice s’interrogent néanmoins sur les contours de l’IA et ses effets variés sur les équilibres délicats régnant dans le monde judiciaire. Nos partenaires demandent à identifier les impacts liés au déploiement de l’IA et à en tirer des leçons pour développer des technologies mieux adaptées à la justice. Pour ce faire, 3 Groupes de travail ont été formés.

 

 

Agenda de recherche

Exploités de façon complémentaire, ces 3 Groupes permettront de coordonner la réalisation de 16 chantiers de recherche distincts. Fondé sur la participation continue des partenaires, AJC se déroulera sur six ans, selon quatre étapes : a) inventaire des cas d’application de l’IA pour la justice; b) évaluation de leur impact au regard de l’autonomisation des acteurs judiciaires; c) développement des meilleures pratiques à suivre pour préserver les intérêts des parties; et d) élaboration d’un cadre de gouvernance capable de garantir une utilisation équitable de l’IA pour la justice.

Fort de son approche pragmatique, AJC participera à l’élaboration d’un cadre de gouvernance juridique de l’IA dans le domaine de la justice. Ce projet majeur favorisera la formation de la relève dans le domaine de la recherche multidisciplinaire en droit et informatique en contribuant à la formation annuelle d’environ 25 étudiants.

Au plan des retombées, les chantiers permettront l’expérimentation et l’implantation de technologies innovantes pour la justice et de nouveaux débouchés pour le secteur privé.

Ce contenu a été mis à jour le 11 juillet 2018 à 18 h 51 min.