Subproject 9 - Decision Tools for Legal Practitioners And Adjudicators, Judges and Arbitrators

Start – 2018 | End – 2024 Duration – 6 years

The development of decision-making tools is the subject of several abstract models. Both their experimental implementation and their practical evaluation run up against the reluctance of those who are competent to make legal decisions. Transparency and pedagogical efforts are needed to ensure the interest and reliability of these tools, which involves examining already existing decision-support techniques.


Research activities

Case studies

The AI prediction solutions in actual (and preferably widespread) use will be considered for case studies. At present, at least one, COMPAS, now used in the United States for pretrial release and criminal sentencing, merits a case study.

Inventories

The objective is to determine the extent to which AI predictions are now in use in the legal professions. These predictions are clearly under development, or are being seriously contemplated.  The initial research has identified 93 potential “solutions” that are intended to assist legal professionals.

Best Practices Guide

The subproject group will work towards producing a best practices guide design to bolster reliable results while protecting legal rights and minimizing legal liability.

Governance Framework

The subproject group will explore creation and application of general principles to be used in determining whether and how governmental organizations, including courts and adjudicative  agencies,  should  use AI prediction.


Researchers

 

 

Fredric I. Lederer

 

Riikka koulu

Karl Branting

 


Partners

 

University

Institutional

 

Ministère de la justice

 

Industry

 

Professional

This content has been updated on 28 November 2019 at 16 h 46 min.

Chantier 9 – Outils décisionnels pour arbitres, adjudicateurs et juges

Début – 2018 | Fin – 2024
Durée – 6 ans

L’élaboration d’outils décisionnels fait l’objet de plusieurs modèles abstraits. Tant leur mise en œuvre expérimentale que leur évaluation pratique se heurte aux réticences des personnes qui ont compétences pour dire le droit.  Des efforts de transparence et de pédagogie sont nécessaires pour garantir l’intérêt et la fiabilité de ces outils, ce qui implique d’examiner les techniques d’aide à la décision déjà existantes.


Activités de recherche

Études de cas

Les solutions de prédiction de l’IA en usage réel (et de préférence généralisé) seront prises en compte dans les études de cas. À l’heure actuelle, au moins l’un d’entre eux, COMPAS, utilisé en ce moment aux États-Unis pour la mise en liberté avant procès et la détermination de la peine, mérite une étude.

Inventaires

L’objectif est de déterminer dans quelle mesure les prédictions de l’IA sont maintenant utilisées dans les professions juridiques. Ces prévisions sont en cours d’élaboration ou bien sérieusement envisagées. La recherche initiale a permis d’identifier 93 potentielles « solutions » destinées à aider les professionnels du droit.

Guide des meilleures pratiques

Le groupe de ce Chantier travaillera à la production d’un guide des meilleures pratiques conçu de manière à obtenir des résultats fiables tout en protégeant les droits légaux et en réduisant au minimum la responsabilité légale.

Cadre de gouvernance

Le groupe étudiera la création et l’application de principes généraux à utiliser pour déterminer si, et comment, les organisations gouvernementales, y compris les tribunaux et organismes d’arbitrage devraient utiliser les prédictions par IA.


Chercheurs

Fredric I. Lederer

Riikka koulu

Karl Branting


Partenaires

Universitaire

Institutionnel

Ministère de la justice

Industrie

Professionnel

Ce contenu a été mis à jour le 14 novembre 2019 à 16 h 09 min.